Skip this post if you aren’t wanting to hear something a bit more sober.

Skip this post if you aren’t wanting to hear something a bit more sober.

We joke, I joke, frequently about aspergers/autism, ADHD…my sense of humor, our family having a sense of humor helps us deal.

It’s not for everyone, and I get and even understand that. It’s how we do it here.

Sometimes watching the teenage sharkling battle and struggle with his brain, how it “is” and the things he can’t do smoothly, without incident, is as a parent shark….

Well, painful.

He will always have that brain. He will, like me, always be on the spectrum and learn to make his accomplishments outweigh his limitations.

He fails, and I let him….he is expected to fix/recover, and adapt.

No whining allowed, no excuses for “but I have aspergers/ADHD so i can’t….”

Kindness, civility, self reliance…we pattern, show, ARE these here.

But fuck…some days it’s hard as Hell not to rescue him…He looping…he’s muttering. He’s ON ABOUT IT AND beating himself up…and trying NOT to do that as well.

Guess who is walking back in the rain for the second bag of groceries he left behind?

It’s parenting. As I work here, finishing up a job,

I sent him out with a fin slap on the back, and ‘it’s no big deal”….

But that face. That face.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.